I am in the process of redoing my series page. But before I completely delete everything I wanted to get the update pages started at least. I only went back to the series that I encountered last year. Because that number is ridiculous. I was going to go back further, but thought it would be better to re-encounter them naturally. So, in other words – if I’m not thinking about it I’m not going to remind myself about them. Also, there are a lot of series that I am in the middle of that are not SFF related, so I won’t mention them here.

Vicous Lost Boys by Nikki St. Crow – I can’t remember who told me about this series first, but I was definitely interested. It was a retelling of Peter Pan , with a focus on the lost boys. And well I did like the first one, The Never King well enough. I didn’t think it was worth continuing on into 4 books. It worked well as a standalone.

The Spoils of Time by Eric Palicki – I got this graphic novel from my library and enjoyed. But I didn’t enjoy it enough to want to go out and buy the rest of the series to continue it- as my library only carried the first book No Angel.

The Nevermore Bookshop Mysteries by Stefanie Holmes – I am not sure exactly how I heard about this series or even why I picked it up. I think it was a random audiobook that I listened to either via audible or scrib’d. And well. I just don’t know. If you are looking at these covers and titles thinking that the series looks kind of cheesy. You would be correct in thinking so. I can’t even say that I remember much about the book that I read A Dead and Stormy Night. But I do remember asking myself why I put myself through the entirety of this book.

Sanity & Tallulah by Molly Brooks – This is a graphic novel that a YouTuber I used to follow raved on and on about. When I saw it at Half Price -especially as it was in the bargain deal- I knew that I had to get it and at least try it out. And it was cute. I loved that it showcased two girls excited about science and able to do what no one else can. And while it is something that I would love for my daughter to read one day, that day is far off. So this is a book that I rehomed. And while I did it before realizing that there were more books in the series, it’s not one I’d likely keep anyway. But I would say that this was worth checking out.

Broken Destiny by Jeanine Frost– I am a huge fan of Frost’s later series, Night Rebel , so when I saw this was available on Audible Plus, I decided to pick it up. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this one very much. I think this may be one of her earlier books -if not it reads as if it was. So while I didn’t really like it, it was nice to see the growth that she has made as a writer.

Spirit Animals: Fall of the Beasts by Various Artists– I read the original series to my son as read alouds. And we had planned on moving on to this series, but life. And we enjoyed this. But now my son is able to read this on his own, or read it to his little sister. So I’m probably not going to continue on with this just because it’s something I feel comfortable letting him reading it on his own. But there is a chance that I will go back and finish it.

Townsend Harbor by Cynthia St. Aubin– I saw this on Audible Plus and decided to listen to it. I liked it, but didn’t think it was something that should have continued on. And at this point, I can’t even tell you what I liked about it. So in the end, it’s not a memorable book.

Tales of the Enchanted Wildwood by Angela J. Ford – This is a series that I saw on Scrib’d and decided to pick it up. I did enjoy it, and would say if you like fairy taleu-esque stories, it’s worth checking out. I no longer have a Scrib’d subscription and my library doesn’t carry the rest of the series, so the only way to continue is to buy them, and this is not one that I would buy.

Not Your Average Hot Guy by Gwenda Bond – I actually wanted to read Mr. and Mrs. Witch by Gwenda Bond but this was the book that was available. And it was fun. It’s a duology, but it worked better as a stand alone (at least for me). I ended up dnfing the second book, because it didn’t seem to bring anything new or necessary to the story.

Sisters of Salem by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast - I finished the first two books and thought that I would definitely like the third book – the one I had a review copy for. I am a long term fan of the Cast books, but I never seem to be able to complete their series. The first two books were strong and held my interest. But the third book, with the stakes raised? It just didn’t. I didn’t make it a quarter of the way into it before I set it aside.

The Disco Space Opera by Cat Rambo– Tor.com had a quiz you could take (or maybe a survey) and then they would recommend you a couple of books. This was the first one that was recommended to me. And I did enjoy it. There was a heist and some mystery and betrayal. And it happened on a space ship or in space. I did enjoy it, and was glad that it was recommended to me. But… and I have probably been saying this a lot— was it necessary to continue on with the story?

These are all of the series that I’ve DNF’d as of January 2024. As I make more progress with series, this page will be updated. As will the cover page. The ne? xt two pages – series I will be continuing and series that I have finished will be more fluid as I make progress. My aim is to do a progress update/check in every quarter. If I don’t set a time frame, I know that I will likely either avoid series altogether or start brand new ones. And we don’t need that to happen.

Are there any series here that I should give a second chance? How do you feel about series?