Look at this, not only are you getting two posts in a day, I am doing a Fantastic Five. This is usually one of the posts that I typically forget about when doing Wyrd and Wonder. And to be honest, I thought that this would be a quick list to make. But when you’re limiting yourself to not talk about any previously mentioned books (because let’s face it, there are enough books in the world to not use the same book for every prompt), it gets to be a bit more challenging.

I am sure that everyone has very different definitions of comfort, and for me my comfort reads are also reads that I turn to when I’m in or going into a slump. And if I had to describe what they had in common, it would be these books are books I know that I am going to enjoy and I don’t have to work for it. These are books that I can (and have) reread multiple times.

In no particular order:

Kindred by Octavia Butler- While the subject matter is not an easy topic and not in the least bit comforting. But this book. This books has been one that I have given out to multiple people and bought multiple times. I know exactly what I am going to get with this book, and still I find a new perspective. I first read this book in college and this was the first time I had read speculative fiction by a black female, the first time I thought that it would be possible for me to do the same.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead- This is one of the first vampire books that Ive read, and it’s one that I easily return to time and again. And I am not saying it’s some literary masterpiece, it has its flaws. But I love the characters -Rose’s spunk in particular. I love that when I pick this up, it is easy for me to fall into this world.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer- Yep, I know. But it is what it is. It is flawed. But I started this series when my life was a lot less chaotic. And it is one of the main books that got me back into reading. And in case you’re wondering I will always be Team Jacob- despite the weird imprinting.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins- I am and forever will be Team Gale. I love Katniss, she remains one of my favorite heroines to this day. But her tastes in men? That’s definitely questionable.

Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead- A succubus who works in a bookstore and falls in love with an author? A found family made up of various supernatural creatures? Yes Please! I love this series and I definitely haven’t reread this as much as I would like to. (Why do I feel like I’m going to alter my reading plans soon?)